AFCON 2023: 15 countries qualify for next year’s tournament [Full list]

Spread the love

Guinea have become the latest team to qualify for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations.

They booked their spot without playing on Tuesday, while Mauritania are poised to join them after a win over Sudan.

A 0-0 draw between Ethiopia and Malawi eliminated both teams and cleared the way for Guinea to accompany Egypt from Group D.

Mauritania jumped from last to first in the fiercely contested Group I by hammering Sudan 3-0.

Sudan were forced to stage their home fixture against Mauritania in the southern Moroccan coastal city of Agadir because of the civil war in the East African nation.

Guinea are the 15th qualifiers after Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia and Zambia.

The other nine places at next year’s AFCON will be completed during the sixth and final matchday from September 4-12, 2023.

Spread the love