Awards and winners on the 67th Balloon D’Or awards

Spread the love

A wonderful morning to you, wherever you are on the planet. Welcome to football excellence as the 67th edition of the annual Ballon D’Or Awards organized by France Football Magazine takes center stage at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris

Last night, France Football announced the winner of the most prestigious individual award in the world of football—the Ballon d’Or.

The main contenders for the prize are Argentina World Cup-winning captain Lionel Messi and treble winner with English Premier League outfit Manchester City, Erling Haaland.

France Football first announced the players ranked from 30th to 11th in the survey and voting process before the top 10 players were revealed.

Finally, the Women’s Award, the Yashin Trophy (Best Goalkeeper), the Müller Trophy (Top Scorer), the Kopa Trophy (Best Young Player), and the Socrates Award were also presented.

At the Balltori blog, we shall bring you all of the updates from the French capital as the 2023 Ballon d’Or Awards Ceremony takes place.

Ballon d’Or Winner’s List

List of Men’s Ballon d’Or award winners

2023Lionel MessiArgentinaInter Miami
2022Karim Benzema FranceReal Madrid
2021Lionel MessiArgentinaParis Saint-Germain F.C.
2020not awarded
2019Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2018Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2012Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2010Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2009Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2007Kaká BrazilMilan
2006Fabio CannavaroItalyReal Madrid
2004Andriy ShevchenkoUkrainMilan
2003Pavel NedvědCzechiaJuventus
2002RonaldoBrazilReal Madrid
2001Michael OwenEnglandLiverpool
2000Luís FigoPortugalReal Madrid
1998Zinedine ZidaneFranceJuventus
1996Matthias SammerGermanyBorussia Dortmund
1995George WeahLiberiaMilan
1994Hristo StoichkovBulgariaBarcelona
1993Roberto BaggioItalyJuventus
1992Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1991Jean-Pierre PapinFranceMarseille
1990Lothar MatthäusGermanyInternazionale
1989Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1988Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1987Ruud GullitNetherlandsMilan
1986Igor BelanovSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1984Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1983Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1982Paolo RossiItalyJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1978Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1977Allan SimonsenDenmarkBorussia M”nchengladbach
1976Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1975Oleg BlokhinSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1974Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1973Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan CruyffNetherlandsAjax
1970Gerd MüllerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1969Gianni RiveraItalyMilan
1968George BestNorthern IrelandManchester United
1967Flórián AlbertHungaryFerencv rosi TC
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1964Denis LawScotlandManchester United
1963Lev YashinSoviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef MasopustCzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1961Omar SívoriItalyJuventus
1960Luis SuárezSpainBarcelona
1959Alfredo Di StéfanoArgentinaReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di StéfanoArgentinaReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool
Credit: By Topendsports

Women’s Ballon d’Or (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Winners List

2021Alexia PutellasSpainBarcelona
2020not awarded
2019Megan RapinoeUSAReign FC
2018Ada HegerbergNorwayOlympique Lyonnais
Credit: Footballtoday

The 30 nominees for the 2023 Ballon d’Or award were announced in September 2023. Lionel Messi was included on the list after being left off in 2022, and was annouced as the winner of his 8th Ballon d’Or on October 30.

Lionel Messi

Other award winners

Messi and Aitanna
Messi and Aitanna

Aitana Bonmati and Lionel Messi each won the Golden Ball as the tournament’s MVP en route to lifting the World Cup trophy in the past year.

Jude Bellingham
Jude Bellingham

Aitana Bonmati and Lionel Messi each won the Golden Ball as the tournament’s MVP en route to lifting the World Cup trophy in the past year.

Spread the love