Leicester announced departure of seven players

Spread the love

One of those is Youri Tielemans as the Foxes prepare for life in the Championship following their Premier League relegation.

Also leaving the club is Caglar Soyuncu, Daniel Amartey, Ayoze Perez, Nampalys Mendy, Ryan Bertrand and Tete.

Leicester have also confirmed that they are in discussions with Jonny Evans about his future beyond the summer.

The Foxes have also exercised their option to extend Hamza Choudhury’s contract until 2024.

Dean Smith’s side have returned to English football’s second tier for the first time since 2014.

Incredibly, they won the Premier League just two years after promotion, and the FA Cup in 2021.

Leicester’s most notable player is Tielemans, who will leave at the end of his contract after 195 appearances for the club.

The midfielder will be remembered among the Foxes fan base for his stunning FA Cup winning goal in the final against Chelsea.

Amid his departure, the Leicester Mercury reports that Aston Villa are favourites to sign him.

Tielemans will therefore be able to play European football again as Unai Emery’s side prepare for the Europa League play-offs.

There will also be concerns about the future of stars like Maddison and Harvey Barnes. They have been linked with moves to Newcastle and Tottenham.

Spread the love